My Journey to Understanding Digital Differences…

Before I continue on this post, I would like to thank the following contributors: Luna and Pearl, for taking their time to look through my previous post and giving me relevant feedback and comments regarding digital differences.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(Self produced, 2017)

Luna’s comment in particular, left me to think of digital differences as differences in education system between developed countries, particularly Taiwan and Singapore. She had also mentioned that her parents were tech savvy and value digital literacy which I find is the direct opposite of mine. Furthermore, after reading through her comments about preparing kids to be digital literate, and gaining both cognitive and technical skills, I had to agree that it should be the right way of learning and that my parents could have done so similarly in the past instead of focusing on written homework.

White and Flesh Photo T Chart

(Self produced, 2017)

The comment from Pearl mostly agree with my viewpoint of digital differences and how an individual’s belief can shape his/her online behavior such as shopping.

Similarly, I had read through and commented on Luna’s and Pearl’s post. Both posts have their fair share of what digital differences meant to them. Pearl focuses on the physical aspect of differences as she wrote: Being a 90s child living in Asia, internet has become part of my life. while Luna focuses on both physical and individual aspect of differences: It’s important to consider the influence of digital differences on Personal Learning Networks..

(Pixsell, 2016)

After reading through the posts, I feel very fortunate to be able to access and connect with people on the internet. In the future, I will not take the internet for granted but instead make full use of it for my own learning and development purposes.

Differences were meant not to divide, but to enrich.

– J H Oldham

Word Count: 300

References

Ling Ling, Z. (2017, November 14). The Analysis of Educational System between Singapore and Taiwan. Retrieved from Shs.edu.tw: http://www.shs.edu.tw/works/essay/2013/11/2013111415345839.pdf

Wang, L. (2017, November 14). What impacts have digital differences had on the way I learn? Retrieved from WordPress.com: https://lunabrillar.wordpress.com/2017/11/10/what-impacts-have-digital-differences-had-on-the-way-i-learn/

Ng, P. (2017, November 14). Interacting with the web: What are my digital differences? Retrieved from WordPress.com: https://pearlnlt.wordpress.com/2017/11/10/interacting-with-the-web-what-are-my-digital-differences/

Pixsell. (2016, January 19). Internet for Education. Retrieved from Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VCkQc0d5sTc

Leave a comment